The Law in Plain English – Boca Raton ➔ Boynton ➔ West Palm Beach ➔ Jupiter’s Top Criminal Lawyer Joshua LeRoy, ESQ. on:Petty Theft – Shoplifting – Theft (value less than $300) – F.S. 812.014
Looking for details on the law firm? click here
A shoplifting charge is one of the most common forms of theft. Petite Theft (value less than $300) is the taking of property of another, even temporarily, to deprive the owner of the use of property or to use the property for oneself.
The fair market value of the property taken is the determining factor in the degree of the charge. Fair Market Value means the current cost to replace the item. The theft of property valued at less than $100.00 is a second degree misdemeanor. The theft of property valued between $100.00 and $300.00 is a first degree misdemeanor, whereas if the property stolen is valued at over $300.00 the crime is a felony. However sometimes, a felony can be charged regardless of the value of the property, i.e. stealing a fire extinguisher, car, from a construction site, or a stop sign can result in felony charges. Not to mention that theft is also a crime whose punishment can be enhanced with each successive conviction. That means that if you have two prior theft convictions, a third theft charge, regardless of the value or nature of the item stolen, can be a felony.
Beyond the criminal arena, having a theft conviction can and will likely affect your career. Few if any businesses are willing to hire persons with a criminal history for stealing.
How is it found how much the stolen object is worth?
Much like grand theft, the property is valued at the market value when the object was allegedly stolen, regardless of how much was paid for the object when it was purchased.
What is the punishment for petty theft?
Any stolen property worth $100 or less is considered 2nd degree petty theft, and is a 2nd degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by less than sixty days in jail and less than $500 fine. Property worth between $100 and $300 is a first degree misdemeanor, punishable by a minimum of a year in jail and less than $1,000 fine.
Can I get my driver’s license suspended from a petty theft conviction?
Yes, if you have been convicted of petty theft in Florida, you may have your license suspended. The chances of that go up substantially if you have prior theft convictions.
Will my punishment be harsher if I have prior convictions?
More than likely, yes. Prior convictions will increase your offense status.
If you, or someone you know, have been charged with Petty Theft / Shoplifting in Palm Beach County (from Boca Raton, Boynton Beach, Delray Beach, Lake Worth, West Palm Beach and up to Jupiter), or any of the surrounding areas use the form below to drop me a note. Let me know a bit about yourself, what’s happened, and a good time to contact you.
-Joshua LeRoy, Esq.
Criminal Defense Attorney Joshua LeRoy, Esq. is dedicated to providing his clients with personalized, honest, and aggressive representation in any and all areas of criminal law in West Palm Beach, Boca Raton, Boynton Beach, Lake Worth, Delray Beach & the surrounding areas of Palm Beach County in the State of Florida.
Arrested? What happens now?
It’s essential to have a respected attorney working to defend your rights, do not delay.